đź’Ą Three Tips for Pivoting While Working Full Time

“How are you doing all of this?”

Folks have been asking me this question since I started my “multi-hyphenate career,” balancing a 9-5 with building my own business.

And yeah, it is a lot. I fully admit that working full time while entrepreneur-ing, plus trying my best to give to others and re-enter society is a lot to take on, and at times extremely overwhelming (#vaxxed-but-not-so-relaxed). 

The same can be said for trying to make a career pivot while working another job (or jobs) and juggling every other part of life! Here are a few tips for thoughtfully approaching seasons where you’re tempted to think, “how am I going to do all of this?”

  1. Advance planning and time blocking: Every Monday morning, I sit down with my physical planner and my Google calendar in front of me and plan out when I want to tackle what’s on deck for that week. I look at existing meetings and slot in my biggest priorities around them, then fill in smaller time increments for the rest. Make sure what you're planning to do in each block of time is realistic. If it looks too daunting on paper/in your calendar, you'll only feel more overwhelmed! Ask yourself how you can break a larger task into mini-steps, then tackle a few at a time.

  2. Notice your procrastination patterns: What do you usually do (consciously or subconsciously) when you're trying to avoid something on your list? For me, it’s checking all of my social media accounts and emails in a loop- once I hit the second lap of mindless scrolling, I know it’s time to snap out of it. Recognize your personal procrastination patterns and try to say, "okay I'm procrastinating. I know this. I have one small, specific thing I can do right now and the sooner I start, the sooner it'll be done."

  3. Acceptance: Some days, you cannot do both. Heck, some weeks you cannot do both. Most pivots and career changes shouldn’t be sprints- intense bursts of effort that leave you burnt out before the real work even starts. Instead, steady and consistent effort- no matter how small- makes the real impact. 

One more thing is true: When I decided to embark on this life pivot, I whole-heartedly rejected the alternative. The alternative being transitioning into career coaching at a slower pace or not transitioning at all. Once I decided that this is what I wanted, not doing what it required was not an option for me.

For me. It could be different for you, and that’s also perfect.

What do you need the most to help you juggle multiple priorities?

KGYGT (keep going, you got this),

Janel

đź’Ą Ready to take your career power back? Here are two ways I can support you:

  • Personal Brand strategy session: Want to build a real business around your personal brand, but don't know where to start? In this 60-minute strategy session, we'll pinpoint potential business models and income opportunities based on where you're at in your personal brand journey. Brand new to personal branding but see the potential to build something amazing? That's great- we can start there, too! Book a 1:1 session here.​

  • Workshops, events, and brand activations: Have an audience you want to motivate around career empowerment, the business of personal branding, and carving owning your path? Let's create an unforgettable experience together! Reply to this email with a hello + a few details.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Modern Mavericks by Janel Abrahami to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now